INFP And Loving Rain

LoveRain2

Honestly I want to write about this since 2015, somehow things not really falling into places when I started to write it. And so all the ideas still stays inside my heart and mind.

Suddenly this year, I have a hunch to write about INFP and loving-rain tendency again after reading an article written by Marko, an INFJ and a columnist in Introvert Spring website. I think fellow INFPs also want something similar but related to us for an enjoyable self-discovery reading, just like that INFJ-related article. So I’m willing to share my personal experience about loving rain.

Disclaimer : This is maybe not true to some INFPs, just a kind of sharing my personal experiences so that I can help the others to find their true type.

In my context, petrichor or the special fragrance that released by the soil during the first rainfall is the main reason I love rain. That special fresh fragrance penetrating my smelling sense, and few moments later I felt oddly disconnected from the reality. Travelling from here and now reality to another time-space named the beautiful past. I feel like I am that carefree little girl again, who enjoyed the freshness and the coolness of the surrounding air beside Persiaran Traulsen* after enduring an uncomfortably hot and humid mid-day. The sky was grey in colour and a bit darker than before, but to her it was always does not mean sadness and tragic. That little girl has learned from the previous rainy day experience, how is romantic and blithe looks like before learning and knowing the meaning of that two words, and connecting it with her personal experiences. By being her once more, I am forgetting the stressful things that made me feeling overwhelmed and overstimulated, so immersed in the joy as long as I can before being jolted to entire body when someone touching my shoulder or calling my name.

Rainfall

The smell of rainfall not only awakening the beautiful memories of enjoying rainfalls in my childhood but also rainfall-related beautiful memories happened in some other time in my past.

In Jungian 8-Cognitive Functions model concept, it is my Introverted Sensing (Si) function that was in action at that time. The sensory experience ( the smell of the rainfalls ) brought back emotional memories of the past that are filtered through the simple mind and heart of a child, as Ken Cerney have explained in his blog post.

Rainfall is not only a moment when I am immersed in the nostalgia of the past, but another essential clue that leads me to embrace INFP as my best-fit Jungian Type.

* Persiaran Traulsen- A famous esplanade in Tawau Town, Sabah.

https://foursquare.com/v/persiaran-traulsen/4d7f357a3e50b1f79d45d8d3

Kongsikan Pendapat/Luahan Rasa Anda Di Sini...